News Detail

Sri Lanka’s Eminent Emeritus Professor K K Y W Perera Appointed to the Board of Governors of BCAS Campus Sri Lanka’s Eminent Emeritus Professor K K Y W Perera Appointed to the Board of Governors of BCAS Campus

May 05 2018

Sri Lanka’s Eminent Senior Professor, Emeritus Professor Vithyajothy K K Y W Perera has joined the Board of Governors (BoG) of BCAS Campus. The appointment was made last month and he participated  at the BoG Meeting held on 5th May 2018.


In the history of State Universities in Sri Lanka, Professor Perera was the first Professor of Electronics.  He established the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Moratuwa (then Katubadda Campus) and was the Founder Dean of the Engineering Faculty. He proceeded to serve as the President of the Katubedda campus then single university of Sri Lanka.  Having clinched several national and international awards for his contribution and unique engineering inventions, he has also received Presidential Awards in recognition of his contribution to engineering education in the country. 

Professor Perera has served as the Founder Chairman of the National Engineering Research & Development Center and the Energy Conservation Fund. He was also the Chairman of the Arthur C Clerk Centre, Ceylon Electricity Board and Sri Lanka Telecom.

In the annals of private education in Sri Lanka, BCAS Campus has emerged a frontline higher education institution with 20 years of solid experience. In collaboration with various international universities BCAS Campus offers internationally recognized higher education courses in the fields of Engineering, Quantity Surveying, Law, Computing and IT, Biomedical Science, Business Management, etc.

With campuses in the key cities such as Colombo, Mount Lavinia, Kandy, Jaffna and Kalmunai, courses from foundation to degrees, Masters and Doctorates are provided at BCAS Campus.

The student population of BCAS Campus currently stands at 3,500+ and the study courses are provided under the able Deanship of a former Vice Chancellor of University of Colombo and former Chairperson of University Grants Commission Professor Ms Kshanika Hirumberagama. 

While the Academic Staff at BCAS include PhDs and Professionals of specific areas there are altogether 250 people employed at BCAS. BCAS’s Board of Governors are mandated to guide and  provide advice in academic activities, and the BoG  consists  of Professor M D Lamawamsa (former Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Peradenia), Professor Rohan Rajapakse (Former Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Ruhuna), Dr A L M Mahroof (Faculty of Engineering , University of Peradeniya), Justice Saleem Marsoof, Dr Yasa Sriwardane and  Senior Chartered Accountant S Asirwatham.

With the joining of Sri Lanka’s eminent Engineering Professor K K Y W Perera to the Board of Governors of BCAS Campus,adds significant  value and prestige to the institute, especially in upgrading the Engineering degree programs.